FATHER MARQUETTE NATIONAL MEMORIAL AND MUSEUM
The Father Marquette National Memorial and Museum is a Scretary of State Human History Porject administered in cooperation with the Department of Natural Resources.
In 1671 Father Jacques Marquette, a young French Jesuit priest, established a small mission at St. Ignace. Two years later, he and Louis Joliet became the first Europeans to map the Mississippi River.
The Father Marquette National Memorial and Museum, through exhibits, audiovisual programs and outdoor kiosks, interprets the meeting of French and Native American cultures deep in the North American wilderness.
The Father Marquette Museum and Memorial are located two miles west of St. Ignace, just off US-2. If crossing the Mackinac Bridge and entering the Upper Peninsula, exit west on US-2, drive about one mile, then turn left at the Howard Johnson motel onto Boulevard Drive.
The museum and memorial are open from 9:30am to 8:00pm from June 17 to August 25; please call (906-643-9394, 906-643-8620 or toll-free TDD 800-827-7007) for hours from May 27 to June 16 and from August 26 to September 30. Plan to spend about one hour exploring the museum and memorial.
Visitors may experience a magnificent view of the mighty Mackinac Bridge at the site, which is part of the Straits State Park. Camping and picnicking are available at the park. Mackinac Island, the Soo locks, Fort Michimilimac and much more are easily accessible from the museum and memorial.
Return to State Park Index